Soludo Sends Names Of 20 Commissioner-Nominees To Lawmakers


Governor Charles Soludo of Anambra has sent a list of 20 Commissioner-nominees to the state House of Assembly for approval.

The Speaker of the House, Rt (Hon) Uche Okafor, who announced this at Tuesday’s plenary while reading a letter from Soludo, dated March 28, said the governor also sent another letter requesting the confirmation of 15 Special Adviser nominees.

Okafor, however, asked the House Committee on Screening to screen the commissioner-nominees.

The Majority Leader moved a motion for the confirmation of the 15 special advisers and they were approved after a voice vote.

Meanwhile, three professors, several PhD holders – some in view – are in the list of 20 commissioner-nominees.

Some of the commissioner nominees were Mr Ifeatu Chinedu, Prof. Ofonze Amucheazi, Mr Ifeanyi Okoma, Ms Chiamaka Nnake, Dr Afam Obidike, Mr Patrick Aghamba, Mrs Ifeyinwa Obinabo, Dr Obinna Ugonnadi, Mr Julius Chukwuemeka and Prof. Ngozi Chuma-Udeh.

Others included Mr Paul Nwosu, Dr Foster Ihejiofor, Mrs Patricia Igwebuike, Mr Felix Odimegwu, Mr Chikodi Anara, Prof. Chika Ifemeje, Mr Collins Nwabunwanne, Mr Donatus Onyeji, Mr Anthony Ifeanya and Mr Paulinus Onyeaka.

Also at plenary, the house read a resolution urging Soludo to appeal to the Commissioner of Police in the state to return checkpoints and patrol teams across the state.

The House resolution followed a motion raised by Mr Onyebuchi Offor, representing Ekwusigo Constituency, (PDP).

According to Offor, absence of the checkpoints in the state has increased insecurity which is causing serious threats to lives and property in the state.


ALSO READ  Afreximbank To Support Nigeria In Fuel Importation, Food Sufficiency

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button