Governors Ratify Simon Lalong As Tinubu’s Campaign DG


All Progressives Congress (APC) Governors have ratified the choice of Plateau State governor, Simon Lalong as the Director General of APC Presidential Campaign Council.

It was gathered that Lalong was considered because of his appeal to the Christian majority in the Middle Belt and aggrieved Christians in the North.

Also, former National Chairman of the APC Adams Oshiomhole had already been pencilled down as the campaign council chairman.

The choice of Lalong and Oshiomhole were reached by the APC governors and Asiwaju Bola Tinubu yesterday at a meeting in Lagos.

Meanwhile, Kaduna State governor, Nasir El-Rufai had said they will brief President Muhammadu Buhari and the National Working Committee of the party before formally unveiling the campaign council.

“This is a delegation of the Progressive Governors Forum led by our Chairman Dr Atiku Bagudu and the Party represented by the National Secretary. We came to report on an assignment given to us by our Presidential Candidate, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu and his running mate to begin the broad consultations and develop a structure for the presidential campaign council.

“We have done some work on it. We have briefed the candidate and his running mate and inputs have been taken and our hope is that in the shortest possible time the candidate will consult more with the party leadership and brief Mr President and get his input and then we formally unveil the presidential campaign council.

“A decision has been taken on the Director General but other positions in the campaign council are still been discussed. The president and the National Chairman and National Working committee will be briefed before a formal announcement,” el-Rufai said.

ALSO READ  Osinbajo, Ameachi, 20 Others To Meet Over Tinubu's Presidential Ambition

Present at the meeting were Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, Kashim Shettima, Kebbi State Governor and Chairman of the Progressives Governors Forum Atiku Bagudu, Nasir el-Rufai, Kano State Governor Abdullahi Ganduje, Zamfara State Governor Bello Matawalle, Jigawa State Governor Badaru Abubakar, Lagos State Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu, Iyiola Omisore, Adams Oshiomhole and former placeholder Vice-presidential Candidate of the party Kabitu Masari.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button