LASG Suspends RTEAN Indefinitely, Appoints 35-Man Caretaker Committee



Lagos State government has approved the indefinite suspension of the activities of the members of Road Transport Employers Association of Nigeria (RTEAN) across the State.

This came following clash among warring factions of the association few days ago at Iyana Iba and Lagos Island areas of the State.

Meanwhile, the state government also appointed a 35-man caretaker committee led by the Oniba of Iba Kingdom, Oba Sulaiman Raji, to take over operations of the transport union all parks within the state.

NewsBeatng learnt that the suspension was approved by the state governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, after their clashes were said to have been in contrast to the administration’s cardinal objectives of the T.H.E.M.E.S Development Agenda for the state.

The Special Adviser to the Governor on transportation, Sola Giwa, said that the suspension becomes imperative following some pockets of violence recorded in Ojo and Lagos Island, saying a 35- Man Caretaker Committee has been constituted to take over activities of the Union.

Giwa reiterated that suspension becomes necessary to prevent further acts of violence in the State, stressing that men of the Lagos State Police Command will be deployed across the State to enforce the suspension and ensure the safety of lives and properties.

In a statement released on Thursday, Giwa revealed that the State had met with some representatives of the RTEAN yesterday following a protest by some members of the Union demanding the removal of their national president.

The governor’s aide stressed that the government had assured RTEAN members of a total investigation of the allegations leveled against the National President with a promise to resolve all lingering issues.

ALSO READ  Lagos To Create Bicycle Parks, Lanes, Sidewalk

On the committee, Heading the Caretaker Committee is Sulaiman Adeshina Raji with Bamgbose Oluseyi as Deputy Chairman. Other members of the Committee include; Sunday Aransiola, Sulaiman Onabanjo, Azeez Abdulrahman, Isiaka Seriki, Victor Ifemenam, Kareem Babatunde, Amusan Abdulrahman, Teslim Adeshina, Sulaiman Surajudeen, and Fatai Rauf,

Others are; Sunday Banjo, Segun Omole, Thomas Akinkayode, Taiwo Lasisi, Gbenga Kashimawo, Samson Ajala, Taiwo Daodu, Sule Aliu, Ahmed Musa, and Oladipupo Ibrahim. Adewale Adeniyi, Olatunji Durojaiye, Wasiu Olanrewaju, Taofeek Onileola, Yusuf Afolabi, Bode Ogungbade, Alh. A.A. Ussaini, Saliu Usman, Saheed Badru, Kolawole Yusuf, Kayode Thomas, Idowu Oyewole, and Salami Babatunde Ope are to also join them.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button