Just In: Lagos PDP Suspends Chairman, Deputy A month After Governorship Election


The Working Committee of the Lagos State chapter of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has ratified the suspension of its Chairman, Philip Aivoji and his Deputy, Benedict Felix Tai.

It would be recalled that Aivoji and Felix-Tai were suspended by their Ward executives over alleged anti-party activities few weeks ago.

Meanwhile, Aivoji and his deputy had challenged their suspension in court.

At the meeting on tuesday, the Working Committee directed the Vice Chairman, West Senatorial District of the party, Hon. Sunday Olaifa, to assume the office of the Chairman pending the outcome of the court case in an acting capacity, being the Vice Chairman from the Senatorial District of Aivoji.

The State executives also set up a Disciplinary Committee of seven man panel to investigate anti-party activities levelled against some leaders and members of the party during the last governorship election.

Confiming this, the State Publicity Secretary, Mr Hakeem Amode, in a statement issued on tuesday afternoon, said that the decisions were taken at a meeting of Working Committee, which held on Tuesday, April 25 to deliberate on saving the soul of the PDP in Lagos State.

He  explained that the State Working Committee took the decision to allow Aivoji and Felix-Tai concentrate on their Court case, adding that they were not to appear before the Disciplinary Committee.

Amode added that the setting up of the disciplinary committee was in accordance with Section 57,  Sub-section 1 & 2 of the Party constitution.

According to him, members of the committee are Chief Abayomi Kuye, who will serve as the Chairman, Alhaji Isiaka Shodiya, Princess M.A Coker (Iya Ni Wura), Kayode Ariwayo, Femi Oluokun, Segun Oriyomi and Barr. Esther Edesiri Egbi, Secretary.

ALSO READ  Land Scandal: The Truth About Tayo Ayinde's Involvement

He stated that the post-election Disciplinary Committee is expected to report back to the State Working Committee in one week.

Amode said ” Names of the State Working Committee Members in attendance were given as Chief Sunday Olaifa, Lagos West Vice Chairman, Hon. Agboola Akinpelu, Youth Leader, Hon. Hakeem Amode, State Publicity Secretary, Hon. Ismail Olatunji, State Auditor and Hon. Adio Salami, State Organising Secretary.

“The five members  in attendance constitute the majority from the original 14 members that form the State Working Committee among which three had decamped to the ruling party, reducing the membership of the State Working Committee to  eleven.

“The embattled Chairman and his Deputy were part of the Eleven remaining members and since they can’t adjudicate in their own case, only nine members were left to take decisions, and five members named above attended today’s meeting and ratified the above as stated.

“Please note that the action taken by the State Working Committee was done in accordance with the PDP constitution to rebuild and reposition PDP in Lagos State,”.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button